Bangladesh, formally referred to as the People’s Republic of Bangladesh, is located in South Asia. It is the eighth largest country in the world according to population and the 92nd largest according to territory.

Bangladesh is almost entirely surrounded by India, except for small borders with Myanmar and coastline to the southeast along the Bay of Bengal.

Official language – Bengali.

Capital – Dhaka.

Biggest cities – Dhaka, Chittagong.

Form of government – Parliamentary constitutional republic.

Area – 147,570 km2.

Population – 168,957,745.

Currency – Taka.

ISO Code – BD.

IOC Code – BAN.

Time zone – UTC +6.