The Republic of Colombia, or Colombia, as it is commonly known, is a state in the north-west corner of South America. It borders Brazil, Venezuela, Ecuador, Peru, and Panama, as well as the Pacific Ocean and the Caribbean Sea. Colombia is one of the most diverse countries in the world, partly due to its mountainous nature, which isolated groups and created strong regional identities.

Date of independence (from Spain) – July 20, 1810.

Official language – Spanish.

Capital – Bogota.

Biggest cities – Bogota, Medellin, Cali, Barranquilla, Cartagena.

Form of government – Unitary presidential constitutional republic.

Area - 1,141,748 km2

Population – 48,400,388.

Currency – Peso.

ISO Code – CO.

IOC Code – COL.

Time zone – UTC -5.