Estonia, also known as the Republic of Estonia, is located in Northern Europe, on the north-eastern coast of the Baltic Sea next to the Gulf of Finland.

Estonia borders Russia to the east and Latvia to the south. To the north is the Gulf of Finland and a maritime border with Finland. To the north and west is the Baltic Sea.

Date of independence (from USSR) – August 20, 1991.

Official language – Estonian.

Capital – Tallinn.

Biggest cities – Tallinn, Tartu, Narva.

Form of government – Parliamentary republic.

Area – 45,339 km2

Population – 1,311,759

Currency – Euro.

ISO Code – EE.

IOC Code – EST.

Time zone – UTC +2, summer UTC +3.