Pakistan (official name – the Islamic Republic of Pakistan) is a country in South Asia. Pakistan became a sovereign independent state in 1947 as a result of the fracturing of British India.

The country is bordered by the Arabian Sea in the south, Iran in the south-west, Afghanistan in the north-west, China in the north-east, and India in the east.

Pakistan is the sixth biggest country in the world according to population, and is the second largest Muslim country, after Indonesia.

Date of independence (from Great Britain) – August 14th, 1947.

Official languages – Urdu and English.

Capital – Islamabad.

Biggest cities – Karachi, Lahore, Faisalabad.

Form of government – Parliamentary republic.

Religion – Islam.

Area – 803,940 km2.

Population – 199,085,847 people.

Currency – Pakistani rupee.

ISO Code – PK.

IOC Code – PAK.

Time zone – UTC +5.