Turkey (officially – Republic of Turkey) is mostly located in western Asia, but part (around 3% of the territory and 20% of the population) is located in southeastern Europe.

A large part of the country is situated on the Anatolian peninsula, with a smaller part located on the Balkan peninsula, between the Black and Mediterranean Seas.

Turkey borders Georgia, Armenia, Azerbaijan, and Iran to the east, Iraq and Syria to the south, and Greece and Bulgaria to the west. Turkey also borders the Black, Mediterranean, Aegean, and Marmara Seas.

Official language – Turkish.

Capital – Ankara.

Biggest cities – Istanbul, Ankara, Izmir, Bursa, Adana, Antalia, Konya.

Form of government – Parliamentary constitutional republic.

Area – 783,562 km2.

Population – 78,743,053.

Currency – Lira.

ISO Code – TR.

IOC Code – TUR.

Time zone – UTC +2, summer UTC +3.